New types of SSL certificates: the secret to the success of your website

New types of SSL certificates: the secret to the success of your website

Today, data security is becoming an increasingly important topic in the world of the Internet. More and more people are realizing that standard security measures, such as passwords and firewalls, are no longer sufficient to protect their confidential information. Cybercriminals are constantly developing new methods of hacking and data theft. In light of these threats, SSL certificates have become an integral part of any successful website.

SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) is a data encryption technology that provides secure transmission of information between a server and a client. It uses cryptographic algorithms to protect data from unauthorized access. SSL certificates also verify the authenticity of the website owner and establish a secure connection between the server and the user's browser.

There are several types of SSL certificates, each designed for different purposes and should be chosen based on the needs of your website. In this article, we will discuss new types of SSL certificates and their benefits.

1. DV (Domain Validation) SSL certificates

These certificates verify ownership of the domain name. When requesting a certificate, the domain owner will need to confirm their rights to it, for example, by sending an email to the registered mailbox or placing a special code on the domain. This type of certificate is perfect for small websites and blogs that do not require a high level of security.

2. OV (Organization Validation) SSL certificates

OV SSL certificates include an additional level of verification - the authentication of the organization that owns the website. When applying for a certificate, the website owner must provide certain information about their company, such as the legal address, registration number, etc. Certificates of this type will add more trust to your website among users and can be especially useful for e-commerce sites where customers enter personal data and make online payments.

3. EV (Extended Validation) SSL certificates

EV SSL certificates offer the highest level of security and trust. They also include additional verification of the organization owning the website. In addition, when using EV SSL certificates, the website address in the browser address bar is displayed in green and the name of the company owning the website is displayed. Certificates of this type are suitable for large organizations, banks, and government institutions.

4. Wildcard SSL certificates

A wildcard certificate allows you to protect all subdomains of your website with one certificate. For example, if your website has subdomains "blog.example.com," "shop.example.com," and "mail.example.com," you can use a wildcard certificate to protect all these subdomains. This saves time and money when installing and updating certificates for each subdomain separately. Wildcard certificates are particularly useful for websites with a large number of subdomains.

5. Multi-Domain SSL certificates

Multi-Domain certificates, also known as Subject Alternative Name (SAN) certificates, allow you to protect multiple domain names with one certificate. This is especially important for websites that operate under different domains or have multiple domain names for different languages or regions. Multi-domain certificates save money and simplify the process of installing and updating certificates.

Choosing the right type of SSL certificate for your website is an important step towards ensuring security and trust on the Internet. Take into account the needs and characteristics of your website to choose the appropriate type of SSL certificate. Regardless of the type of certificate you choose, having one will help protect your users, increase trust in your website, and prevent data leaks.